The Economic Action Council (EAC) was established on 11 March 2020 and the first meeting was chaired by YAB Tan Sri Dato 'Haji Muhyiddin bin Haji Mohd Yassin as the Prime Minister.
The Government on 17 September 2021 has agreed to retain the Economic Action Council (EAC) as the highest economic advisory body to the Government.

The EAC plays a role to:

  1. As a partnership platform between the public and private sectors on current economic policies and strategies;
  2. Enhance the involvement of the private sector and industry in development planning through systematic engagement sessions with various stakeholders such as corporate leaders, economists, local and foreign investors, small and medium enterprises, academicians as well as representatives of the economic sector;
  3. Strengthen the country's economic resilience by addressing economic vulnerability among low income households and micro, small and medium industry players;
  4. Enhance the competitiveness and quality of the business environment to strengthen Malaysia's position as a major investment destination;
  5. As a platform to address economic issues and challenges of a structural nature and in the medium and long term;
  6. As a discussion platform on high impact socioeconomic development projects; and
  7. Increase the level of confidence of the people, industry and investors in the Government through extensive governance.
The EAC Secretariat was established under the Economic Planning Unit, Prime Minister's Department to assist in secretarial matters at all levels of EAC Meetings as well as to monitor and report implementation progress to the EAC.

The EAC Secretariat is led by an Executive Director.

The EAC Secretariat is responsible for keeping records and documents of presentation materials, minutes and other materials relevant to EAC Meetings securely and systematically.
The EAC will meet once a month according to the meeting schedule agreed by the YAB Chairman.
The EAC will also meet when required or directed by the YAB Chairman.
  1. EAC Members:

    1. YAB Dato' Sri Ismail Sabri bin Yaakob
      Prime Minister (Chairman)

    2. YB Dato' Seri Mohamed Azmin bin Ali
      Senior Minister of International Trade and Industry

    3. YB Senator Tengku Dato' Sri Zafrul Abdul Aziz
      Minister of Finance

    4. YB Dato' Sri Mustapa bin Mohamed
      Minister in the Prime Minister's Department (Economy)

    5. YBhg. Tan Sri Nor Shamsiah binti Mohd Yunus
      Governor of Bank Negara Malaysia

    6. YBhg. Prof. Tan Sri Dato' Seri Dr. Noor Azlan Ghazali

    7. YBhg. Datu Hj. Abang Halmi bin Ikhwan
      President of the Sarawak Bumiputera Entrepreneurs Council, representative of Sarawak

    8. Encik Petrus Gimbad
      Representative of Sabah>

    9. Encik Shahril Sufian bin Hamdan
      Director of Economy, Prime Minister’s Office

    10. YBhg. Tan Sri Jamaludin Ibrahim
      Chairman of Prasarana Malaysia Berhad (PRASARANA)

    11. YBhg. Tan Sri Abdul Wahid Omar
      Chairman of Bursa Malaysia

    12. YBhg. Dato' Low Kian Chuan
      Presiden The Associated Chinese Chambers of Commerce & Industry of Malaysia (ACCCIM)

    13. Tuan Haji Abd Halim bin Husin
      Presiden Dewan Perniagaan Melayu Malaysia (DPMM)

    14. YBhg. Tan Sri Dato’ Soh Thian Lai
      President of Federation of Malaysian Manufacturers (FMM)

    15. YBhg. Datuk Dr. A. T. Kumararaja
      Secretary General of Malaysia Associated Indian Chambers of Commerce & Industry (MAICCI)

    16. YB Senator Datuk Seri Zurainah binti Musa
      Executive Director of Berjaya Corporation Berhad

    17. Encik Kamarulazman bin Muhamed
      Founder & CEO of Aerodyne Group

  2. Ex-officio Members:
    1. Secretary General of Treasury, Ministry of Finance; and

    2. Director General of Economic Planning Unit, Prime Minister’s Department.